2016-17 Achievement Judges

2016-17 Achievement Judges

Terry Bullick is the publisher and editor of Apple, Alberta’s health and wellness magazine, the editor of Frontline, a health and safety magazine for Canada’s oil and gas industry, and a communications consultant.

Matthew Blackett is the publisher, editor and one of the founders of Spacing magazine. He is also the creative force behind the magazine’s retail shop in downtown Toronto. Blackett was named Editor of the Year for 2007 by CSME and Spacing was has been named Canadian Small Magazine of the Year five times.

Katharina Doyle is co-founder and publisher of Creative Scrapbooker Magazine.  Creative Scrapbooker has been publishing quarterly since 2005, and has a loyal following in Canada and the U.S. through subscriptions, newsstand and social media alike.

Beth Ed is the publisher of Alberta Views since 2011 and has worked for the magazine since 2007. She previously held positions as AV’s circulation manager, departments editor and advertising sales manager. Ed holds an honours degree in Communications from the University of Calgary.

Kim Larson is an industry-leading art director whose career has been marked by a combination of versatility and creativity.  As the Art Director at Venture Publishing, she’s guided Eighteen Bridges and Alberta Venture magazines to numerous high-profile provincial and national magazine awards. She is passionate about all things magazines.

Käthe Lemon is the editor-in-chief of Avenue magazine in Calgary and has worked in magazines for almost two decades. She was honoured with the AMPA Editor of the Year award in 2011.

Nicola Hamilton is an internationally recognized editorial designer based in Toronto. She is currently the Deputy Art Director at Chatelaine, previous to that she was the Associate Art Director at acclaimed city-weekly The Grid.

Breanna Mroczek is the editor of Where Calgary magazine, editorial assistant of Glass Buffalo magazine, and a freelance writer. She is a graduate of the University of Alberta, where she earned an MA in English.

Kim Pittawayis a magazine consultant and educator and former editor-in-chief of Chatelaine magazine. She is a past president of the National Magazine Awards Foundation and a past chair of the NMAF Judging Committee. She was the recipient of the Foundation’s Outstanding Achievement Award at in 2016.

Anicka Quin is an award-winning editor and writer with a passion for building community while creating nimble, successful and dynamic media brands. She holds the position of editorial director at Vancouver and Western Living magazines.

Dan Rubinstein is an Ottawa-based writer and editor who contributes to publications such as The Walrus and enRoute, and is a former editor at Canadian Geographic, Alberta Venture and Alberta Views magazine. He is the author of Born to Walk: The Transformative Power of a Pedestrian Act (ECW Press, borntowalk.org).

Jenn Schmidt Rempel is publisher/editor for Lethbridge living and serves as board president of Lethbridge’s Allied Arts Council, and as a director for AMPA and Economic Development Lethbridge and the Curriculum Advisory Committee, Digital Communications Media program, Lethbridge College.

Matthew Stepanic is the editor of Glass Buffalo, the assistant editor of WHERE Edmonton, and the submissions editor for Eighteen Bridges. On an ideal Friday night, he is unwinding with a good book and a better bottle of wine.

Thomas Tait is owner and publisher of Galleries West Digital magazine, which this year replaced a print version launched in 2002. He was a founding partner and publisher of WHERE Calgary magazine from 1981 to 2001.

Chris Welner is editor of IMPACT Magazine and the recipient of AMPA’s 2012 Editor of the Year Award. Chris has traced a career through major newsrooms that include the Toronto Star, Edmonton Journal and Calgary Herald. Chris has been a member of the AMPA board since 2014 and currently serves as vice-president.